Friday Finds

Oh yes Friday Finds!!!

Today my guest is Robin.  She’s a vintage girl ;) and also paints custom portraits.

Welcome Robin!

Pet Portrait Oil Painting by robinzebley

Pet Portrait Oil Painting by robinzebley

Tell me a little bit about yourself/the history of your store.

I’m a Gemini and my twin sides are art and vintage. I’ve been doing custom pet portraits for nine years, and the only thing I didn’t like about it was the isolation of the studio, being an extrovert. Shopping for vintage gets me out and about and is a perfect complement to my art. I even use my vintage in my art sometimes!

I have three shops on Etsy, my portrait shop, my vintage art shop and this one. I feel like selling vintage is like curating a collection. While there are lots of vintage shops on etsy, each one has its own flavor, based on the tastes of the shopkeeper.

I started this shop with figural and other planters from the 1940s to 1950s. I collect them, love the animals and my windowsills are filled with plants and herbs and began with a few duplicates I had and evolved from there. My boxer dog, Sarge, loves to go shopping with me, and he’s my studio pal when I’m working on art.

Vintage Handpulled intaglio print of Flute Player at VintageArtShow

Vintage Handpulled intaglio print of Flute Player at VintageArtShow

Tell me what makes your store UNIQUE from all the other stores that sell a product similar to yours.

I am drawn to strange and quirky things that other dealers don’t even see. I remember hitting an estate sale late in the day…long after the other dealers had come and gone and scooping up a boxful of fun items, like a plastic golf bag swizzle stick holder from the 1960s, complete with a corkscrew, a cocktail recipe book from the 40s, a green top hat from the 1800s and a box of Noma rocketship bubble Christmas lights. While other dealers pass on these gems while looking for carnival glass and train sets, I stocked my shop with them and they all found good and happy new homes!

I am drawn to romantic bedrooms and cozy kitchens, and buy every single vanity set and platform mirror I can find, boudoir lamps, old kitchen tools, old linens, old glassware.

I also love the glamour of old hats, gloves and pocketbooks. So my shop is curated with a weird mix of what I like, romantic, quirky and odd, swanky and glam.

Victorian era chromolithograph illustration at VintageArtShow

Victorian era chromolithograph illustration at VintageArtShow

Feature one of your items and tell the story about that particular item.

My current shop favorite is this Raylite plastic church that lights up and plays Silent Night. www.etsy.com/listing/91366079/raylite-lighted-musical-church-works. This was one of those things I saw across a crowded room and ran over to buy. Made of plastic and lit with one nightlight bulb, with a fabulous tinny music box included, it’s the ultimate in vintage Christmas decor to me! There is no day more nostalgic than Christmas and I know this piece will be a highlight this year. I’ve sold vintage Christmas year-round, when I could find it. I’ve been lucky enough to find some recently that I am going to list soon.

Raylite Lighted Musical Church at AnyOldTime

Raylite Lighted Musical Church at AnyOldTime

Links

Website: robinzebley.com
Shops: Anyoldtime.etsy.com, VintageArtShow.etsy.com, RobinZebley.etsy.com
Blog: AnyOldTimeVintage.blogspot.com
Twitter: robinzebley
Pinterest: robinzebley

Vintage vanity set at AnyOldTime

Vintage vanity set at AnyOldTime

Thank you Robin!!!  :D

Childrens Portrait Commission by robinzebley

Childrens Portrait Commission by robinzebley

8 thoughts on “Friday Finds

  1. Linda Beers Aydlott

    Wonderful interview! I love your art Robin. You have the gift to capture the essence of a scene or person or animal. Your work is full of Light… just like that charming church. It really tugs on memories from my past. Simply lovely. Thanks Amanda for sharing Robin. I so enjoyed reading this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

